DIRTY BOOKS!!

It seems to me that to have an entire book (containing many many authors) of innapropriate readings for an entire religion is just rediculous.  The "Index Librorum Prohibitorum" was just that, rediculous.  I did a bit of research and was able to pull up a list of books that was in the "Index Librorum Prohibitorum".  And though I could not read a lot of what it said because it was not written in English, I could recognize that the list was immense.  This index was just full of names of innapropriate readings.  Also, I tried to find what it was exactly that qualified a book to be censored and therefore put into the "Index Librorum Prohibitorum" and the best I could find was this:  The grounds of censorship are "to prevent the contamination of the faith or the corruption of morals of Roman Catholics according to cannon law, through the reading of theologic erroneous or immoral books"  (translation by Betty Cutolo http://www.beaconforfreedom.org/about_database/index_librorium.html) So I am wondering what exactly these books say, or what kind of pictures they have that banned them from libraries.  It doesn't seem like it took much according to that quote.  The reign of Pope Pius V (1566-72)  was known as one of the most strict periods of history known by the Roman Catholic Church.  I imagine this has something to do with the long life lived by the "Index Librorum Prohibitorum"

Leave a comment